Almost Ready!

Let’s talk about sheets shall we?  For anyone living in a RollingSilver2ndHome, they ARE NOT an easy subject.  You see, beds in an RV aren’t traditionally sized.  Typically, they aren’t the same as the one you sleep on peacefully at home.  In fact, without some added Topping, they aren’t all that comfortable either.  Enter memory top foam.  Find a mattress pad that fits.  If you opted for twin beds in the bedroom in order to have a normal sized pathway, so things in your built-in storage could actually be accessed, and because you wanted the open visual length of your Airstream to maximize the feeling of space…well, then you know what I’m talking about.  (Don’t forget my penchant for pairs.  Two beds change the bedroom by turning it into a Lounge.  Do I even need to say it?  Dual Purpose!)  Anyway,  the mattresses are curved to fit the outside curves of our iconic silver trailer.  Like shoes, there is a Right side and a Left side.  Oh Boy.

I’ll confess that I originally bought custom, curved sheets, thinking they would be a perfect fit.  In fact, they were not.  There is not a lot of room for changing the sheets in the tiny Lounge.  When sheets are a perfect fit, it is perfectly impossible to get them on.  It’s like trying to put on a pair of too-tight jeans by lying flat on the bed, holding your breath to zip up, and jumping up and down to stretch and move all into position.  After struggling with these for too long, I knew something had to change.

 
My revelation came in the mail via The Company Store sale catalog.  My favorite sheets are jersey knit, which are no longer easy to find.  The quality suffers for many sheets, often seeming to be thin “seconds” that won’t fold up properly, nor do they have any kind of straight edge.  After noticing the sheets at The Company Store would fit a deep mattress with a contiguous elastic band, I figured I might be able to get these to actually FIT, without twisting into a pretzel to get them on.  Ordered!  The first thing attempted was to make the bed(s).  Knowing the struggle needed to do this in the past, they were approached with trepidation.  You know what?  My bed making issues are OVER.  Within a few minutes the sheets were on, and tucked into a refreshed, beautifully made, crisp, inviting bed.  Aaahhhhh.  That’s more like it!

Our time of Preplanning, Preparing and at Peace was just that.  The weekend was spent readying the RollingSilver2ndHome for the next excursion.  There was No Rushing.  Imagine! Once we’d put everything to bed (so to speak), I plugged in a cassette tape and we had a cold drink.  It was raining.  Although it wasn’t enough to make any difference to our drought, the rain-fresh smell was reviving.  The light has changed and there are beginning hints of fall.  The hummingbirds are very busy, gearing up for their long flight south, the same way I’m looking forward to some road miles.  You know, I never feel like I’m on my way until we’re down the road, because of the energy required to get there.  There’s very little now left to do, and I’m relaxed and calm.  It seems right to be slipping into a vacation frame of mind.  I’m ready.

no preview

The next road sign I want to see!

Leave a Reply

