Upgrades and Installations

When the microwave fried itself (Oops!  How did that happen?), I decided to use it as an opportunity for good.  You see, it was a “good” time to replace the 10 year old microwave with a convection microwave.  As much as I like cooking with gas, propane fumes require ventilation.  Lots of ventilation.  I’m not about to get rid of my propane oven however, since there are times it can come in handy, and as someone who actually cooks, this gives me the option of double ovens.  (When it’s not in use, it’s also a handy dandy storage box which makes it dual purpose!)  A convection microwave also fulfills my Dual Purpose Rule, so it’s a Win/Win all the way around.  I decided on a Sharp, Convection Microwave, since according to the dimensions on the website, it would fit without any problems.  Well, long-freakin’-story-short, the dimensions for height were written as depth and vice versa (let’s see, lost in Chinese translation?)  It was installed with much ado, and finally plugged in to be used.

Our last trip in the RollingSilver2ndHome was to visit my mother-in-law.  How nice to have your very own home when visiting relatives!  One of the things I like to do for her is make food that she likes and freeze it in individual portions, so some of her meals are hassle free.  I decided on a Triple Corn Casserole for the first item to try in my new convection oven.  It turned out beautifully, and was a hit with her.  The recipe came from The Patrick Sisters Full Circle Dutch Oven Cookbook, and one of their most requested.  The book seems to be out of print now, so I’ll share the recipe with you.

TRIPLE CORN CASSEROLE

1 egg

1-8 ounce sour cream

1/2 cup melted butter

1/4 t. butter flavoring

1 can whole corn, drained

1 can creamed corn

1 small package Jiffy cornbread mix

Mix all ingredients together and place in a 12-inch Dutch oven, or a 2-quart baking dish in a conventional oven.  Bake for 45 minutes at 350 degrees.

Good news!  Our floor has arrived and ready for installation soon.  I’m ready.  What was my most important lesson that week of the fried microwave?  Now that my upgrade is in place, it would be Two Words:   Surge Protector.

Leave a Reply

